Inside The Sky

by Daniel Jumpertz

  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    As you can see from the pics, this package is something special. Following up from long-time Alpen visual collaborators Sopp Collective's previous stunning Alpen covers, the packaging and design for Inside The Sky lifts the bar higher still. Two panel CD package (no plastic) and beautiful card inserts.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Inside The Sky via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 2 days
    edition of 80 

      $15 AUD


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $5 AUD  or more


(free) 03:16

Every track teems with beautifully recorded guitars. The real feat is that, while such high importance is placed on processing and tiny details, it’s never at the sacrifice of melodicism, a sense of melody pervades the entire album. Inside The Sky is a great album. It is like no other of which I can think. It is purely instrumental, but is produced and structured like an album of pop songs. Timeless.
Fresh outta Feral Media comes this, an excellent genre smashing post everything release from Alpen. It’s full album of intricate micro grooves featuring smoothly integrated live and electronic elements. And great melodies and hooks. Quality stuff, get you some.

Rave Magazine (Brisbane)
Genres be damned – it’s art

Some things, but not many things, are more important than music.

Almost completed in 2007, INSIDE THE SKY was shelved when Danny’s son, Lewis, was born. In 2009, just as Danny resumed making the finishing touches to the album, his number came up in the Green Card Lottery run by the US State Department.
He and his young family decided to pull up stumps from Sydney and move to New York City. The Feral Media recording studio and HQ in inner Sydney were dismantled & sold. During 2010, Danny rebuilt his studio on Manhattan and mixed INSIDE THE SKY.

INSIDE THE SKY is a beguilingly simple electro-acoustic hybrid, a natural successor to Alpen’s acclaimed 2005’s debut album Overdub. The Sopp Collective created the design and packaging and have sculpted another outstanding limited-edition release.
Recorded in Sydney, Melbourne & New York, the all instrumental album features regular Alpen collaborators Greg Seiler (Comatone), John Tjhia (ii, Aleks and The Ramps) & Martin Kirkwood (Splinter Orchestra, The Sacred Cows).
The album title was inspired by the book INSIDE THE SKY by William Langewiesche.


released November 13, 2011


1. An Optimist's Failing
2. Dumb Victory
3. A Meditation On Flight
4. Coconut Ants
5. Frontier Of Ink & Paper
6. Atomiser
7. To See One's Self From Above
8. I Am Nobody
9. Keo
10. First Night In Space
11. Song For My Lost Friends
12. Returning to the Blue
13. In the drink

All instruments and processing Danny Jumpertz except the following listed below.
All tracks mastered by Greg Seiler at Blue Mountain Sound, Australia.
Album title inspired by William Langewiesche's book "Inside The Sky"
Recorded At Feral Media, Camperdown, NSW.

An Optimist's Failing 4:40
Matt Burgess - vocals

Dumb Victory 3:27
Greg Seiler - bass synth, drum samples
Jon Tjhia - live drums

A Meditation On Flight 3:16

Coconut Ants 2:19
Caroline Jumpertz - drums

Frontier Of Ink & Paper 4:58
Leigh Hegg - drum programming

Atomiser 3:01

To See One's Self From Above 4:03
Susan Harman - guitar
Caroline Jumpertz - looped drums
Martin Kirkwood - bass
Jon Tjhia - live drums
Chrystal Lynch - vocals

I Am Nobody 3:28

Keo 3:23

First Night In Space 4:34
Jon Tjhia - guitar fragments
Caroline Jumpertz - drum
Richmond Brain - electric guitar

Song For My Lost Friends 5:37

Returning to the Blue 3:52
James Tucker - features on guitar sample taken from Plankton's Todo Es Posibre

In the drink 5:38
Martin Kirkwood - electric guitar

Caroline Jumpertz, Jon Tjhia, Martin Kirkwood, Greg Stone, Greg Seiler, Leigh Hegg, Susan Harman, Will Berryman, Matt Burgess, Richard Brain, Chrystal Lynch, Marc Eiden, Thorsten Kulp, Katja Hartung, Nelson Alves, Kare Martens, Stuart Buchanan, Dan Zilber, James Tucker, Andrew White, Simon Wright



all rights reserved


FeralMedia Australia

We are an artist-run record label based in Sydney, Australia.

contact / help

Contact FeralMedia

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code