Summer EP

by Various

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price


Don't Change 03:36
Magpie 06:04


The Summer EP is the third instalment in the Seasons EP series.

The EP opens with Sydney electronic duo Bon Chat, Bon Rat who contribute a cover of the early INXS classic 'Don't Change'. The duo took inspiration from the opening synth line of the original - which they felt was particularly evocative of the Australian summer - giving the original a new lease of life with their infectious brand of electronica.

The Townhouses' Leigh Hannah continues to mine the slacker pop sounds heard on his most recent single 'Nag Champa', however the down tempo nature of 'Magpie', along with the simple drum machine rhythms and soft synth backing recall the minimal ambience of his debut album Diaspora. The summer themes are prevalent throughout with the more obvious references to Magpies fainting and the relentlessness of daylight savings, to more introspective notions of failed resolutions and the flawed idealism based on the hopeful nature of the season.

Friendships offer up a synth-laden jungle banger, citing early Dillinja as a particular influence on the track. Although written when Melbourne was still cold and rainy – which accounts for the dark bass edge – the summer vibes can certainly be heard via the timbale rhythms which considering the setting lend the track an almost tropical feel.

Tim Fitz closes proceedings with 'No Rooms Tonight', a track that is somewhat of a departure for the artist with subtle electronic flourishes and pitched-down vocals that provide ghostly harmonies to Fitz's lead vocal melody. Despite these slightly eerie touches his penchant for vocal hooks and catchy melodies remain, immortalising the Bay Royal in Byron Bay (a fittingly summery beachside location) in the songs memorable closing passage.


released February 19, 2014

All tracks written and produced by the respective artists, except track 1 written by INXS

Artwork by Toben

Mastered by G L Seiler




Feral Media Australia

We are an artist-run record label based in Melbourne and Sydney, Australia.

contact / help

Contact Feral Media

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Summer EP, you may also like: